May manMap challenge

10 May

Martin Place early eveningAs someone who’s never worked in the CBD, I’ve always found Suit Night a little intimidating. Bars are glossy, high heels are mandatory and competition prickles the air. Business men joust with tales of work-related battles while women vie for the best self-exhibition position. Behind the appearance of unwinding after another long week is an undercurrent of tension. To be perfectly honest, it’s not really my scene. I prefer something more low-key where my ballet flats are welcome.

Heading into the city on Friday night to meet one of my lovely wing-girls, I was overwhelmed by the number of men about. Martin Place buzzed like a massive hive and people were spilling out of every bar in sight. Hoping to find a venue where I didn’t have to compete with loud music, we headed to the Verandah Bar. It was my first visit and I was delighted to find it relaxed and unpretentious. For years I’d imagined every city bar was as tightly strung as Ivy. I was so wrong.

After a few surveys, Wing-girl spied a table of four non-suited men. They looked cheerful and non-threatening so I thought I’d try my luck. Not only were these men happy to be surveyed, but they invited Wing-girl and I to share their bottle of champagne. We had so much fun talking to these generous, sociable and funny guys that I forgot to survey anyone else. When Wing-girl and I finally left in search of food we were filled with optimism. Wing-girl couldn’t believe we’d just met such nice, normal, single guys at one of her local CBD bars. And all it took was for us to approach them and say hi.

So my fellow singletons,

take the May manMap challenge.

Go out and talk to a man you don’t know (just remember though, safety first). It doesn’t have to be in a pub or a bar. It could be at the bus stop or in the queue at the supermarket. Maybe you’ve had your eye on someone at the gym. Smile, say hello and see what eventuates. Even if all you have is a friendly conversation, I can guarantee it’ll do wonders for your confidence. I hope that by the end of the month, lots of happy comments have been posted about successful meetings. Good luck!

8 Responses to “May manMap challenge”

  1. Maz May 11, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    Hello There. Just wanted to say, Very good format for the Man Map. Glad someone has started something in this form. Pity it isn’t in all Major cities! However, good to start in Sydney.

    • Lucie Stevens May 12, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

      Thanks for visiting Maz. The plan is to start in Sydney and then manMap the rest of the country. Then I’ll head over to NZ – the drought over there is even worse!

  2. beachblogger May 11, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    Go Lucie … the Veranda Bar looks gorgeous. I know what you mean about the tense atmosphere in city bars apres work … it can be intimidating. I notice the Ivy is associated with Merivale, so if it’s a wank I’m not surprised. I worked for them 30 years ago and it was a horrible experience …

    By the way, the beach is a great place to spot gorgeous men … every morning they run round in front of me with their boards under their arms and frolic in the waves …

    Yes and I agree, the look of your website is tres sophisticated … the city photo was good, was it yours?

    • Lucie Stevens May 12, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

      Hi beachblogger! Sounds like you had a good reason to get up early for a swim! I must admit, I didn’t utilise the summer as much as I wanted to. Everytime I set aside a day to survey on the beach it rained! Hopefully I’ll have more luck when the weather warms up again.
      And no, the photo isn’t mine. Thank goodness for Creative Commons. If you click the photos it’ll take you through to the photographers images. Some great ones out there! : )

      • beachblogger May 12, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

        Yes Lucy, and even more distracting is the sight of gorgeous young men peeling off their wetsuits after a hard morning’s surfing … usually I spot them next to their cars as I’m driving off and I have to concentrate hard to keep steering straight …

  3. Pat May 12, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    Hi Lucie
    I love your thinking! I spoke to a man with a cute dog sitting outside a coffee shop and it was much easier than I thought. Nice and casual. I’ve seen him there before so maybe next time we might talk for a little longer. Wish me luck!

    • Lucie Stevens May 12, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

      Hurrah for Pat and her dog owner!! I’m imagining Aiden and puppy Pete from SATC enjoying an al fresco coffee…mmm…

      Good work Pat, I’m proud of you! Make sure you say hi to him again. You probably made his day!

      Thanks for sharing your May manMap Challenge experience and be sure to keep us posted on how things unfold.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The reason behind the excuse « My manMap - March 15, 2011

    […] were keen to catch up, have a laugh and embrace happy hour. For the sake of convenience they met at Verandah Bar, which was central and known for its mapping success, drinkable house white and not being overrun […]

Leave a Reply

