Push up

17 May

Running manThere’s a culture in Sydney happening all around me without me knowing anything about it. Sure, I catch the occasional glimpse: people in unfamiliar clothing, an overheard phrase I don’t understand, a noisy establishment calling to its followers.

As I sleep through the dark hours of the morning, its members are out there, hot and sweaty, fuelled by various concoctions, heads pumping with loud music. I am, of course, referring to the fitness culture.

On Sunday morning I woke early (9am) and was out the door by 11, which is pretty impressive for me on the weekend. My philosophy is that if I have to get up early during the week for work, I’m allowed to sleep in on the weekend. Surveys packed and glasses on to maximise the six-packs of my imagined surveyees, I headed to Hyde Park looking for the fit, healthy men who’d just run the half-marathon. But it was all over. The only people left were the picnicking families who’d been cheering on mum or dad.

Those of you who know me know I’ve never set foot in a gym. The idea of having to publicly expose my lack of coordination without the support of alcohol terrifies me. My exercise regime has always centred around yoga, pilates, walking and watching the men’s diving during the Olympics.

But I’m realising that I might be missing out. While I’m enjoying a sleep-in, a good chunk of healthy, hetero men have woken, showered, breakfasted and run 21 kilometres. I’m sure most women don’t feel too attractive post-workout, but maybe we’re taking the wrong view. Women enjoy watching sweat-glistened men jog by. Why do we assume men don’t think the same? In Pride and Prejudice, Mr Darcy even comments that Elizabeth’s “fine eyes” are brightened by exercise.

Maybe there’s something to be said for group fitness activities where you get to work out and broaden your social circle. There are even a few groups in Sydney specifically for singles.  Do you think what starts as a beep test could end in love?

3 Responses to “Push up”

  1. beachblogger May 18, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    Way to go Lucy!

    In Oorstralia, sport is where a lot of the blokes are (apart from the pub – a place you’re already aware of).

    That ‘fit to date’ thing looks a lot of fun … I think it’s because they actually get people playing silly games together, which gets everyone laughing and drops inhibitions.

    Although I’m not on the beach to meet a bloke, I actually find that being in sporty mode (and I’ve never been sporty before either, just dance, yoga, walking, tai chi sort of stuff) and wearing casual clothes etc removes any possible self consciousness … it’s much easier to just say hi and wave at someone you see regularly … to have a casual chat about something … no need to come up with any earth-shaking witticisms … you just are what you are and if you’re enjoying the experience of being out there it shows.

    Keep up the good work. I like the research you’re coming up with.

  2. lesliedavid May 18, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Hi Lucie.

    I admire your writing style, sense of humour and unremitting commitment to your cause. Whilst I am a bloke, I am of a vintage that lacks any understanding of the modern-day male. In fact, I feel a deep sadness in meeting so many wonderful women, searching for that elusive 1:352,000. Don’t give up and keep us informed of the journey. By the way, you have a well engineered and attractive Blogsite. Mine needs a bit of renovation.
    All the best.

    Les

    • Lucie Stevens May 19, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

      Hi Les,

      Thanks for stopping by and for your support. I’d love to hear about the dating rituals of your generation. We might be able to learn something. Feel free to leave a comment about them!

Leave a Reply

