Product placement

7 Jun

SATC HP USBIf there’s one thing that clutters our waking hours more than anything else, it’s advertising. Everywhere we go, virtually or in reality, products and services vie for our attention. Corporate branding is a huge industry and billions of dollars are spent in an attempt to create loyal consumers. So when my friend* told me Carrie Bradshaw had switched from a Mac to an HP, I felt a little sad. As a major SATC fan, I’d come to associate the glowing apple on Carrie’s laptop with moments of modern-day philosophy and reflection. I felt sure the “real” Carrie (ie. the one from the series) would never have sold out. After all, she valued her Carrie necklace above Petrovsky’s diamonds.

So what does this have to do with being a single woman? Well, my friend showing me the sparkling HP USB stick she’d picked up at the SATC2 premier made me think about product placement in social environments. While I never like to consider myself as a product, on a superficial level I know I am. We all know that how we look and behave communicates something about who we are.

It’s our personal advertising campaign.

And like all good campaigns, we can be strategic about when and where we invest our advertising resources.

Next time you go out with your wing-girls, think about where you position yourselves in the room. Sitting in a dark corner makes it hard for you to be noticed. Perfect if you’re on an intimate date, not so useful if you’re dateless. Pick a spot that’ll allow you to interact without being intimidated (or intimidating!). Is there a table people walk past to get to the bar? Are you in the line of vision when guys walk in? Ok, you won’t want to sit right outside the men’s bathroom, but somewhere with lots of man-traffic is good. Don’t be afraid to change positions during the night to see who else is about. 

The most important thing is to relax and enjoy the company of your fellow wing-girls. That way you’re guaranteed to have a great night and go home happy, whether you meet a guy or not. And of course, when people see you having fun with your friends, they’ll realise you’re someone worth getting to know. When I’m out surveying, I always approach men who look open and friendly, and who are interacting with each other in a way that shows they’re decent guys. That’s the kind of man-ad that grabs my attention. And a woman with a smile on her face, surrounded by happy friends, is a powerful advertising campaign too.    

* A BIG thank you to the wing-girl formerly of the Pinky Palace, for the fabulous photography.

3 Responses to “Product placement”

  1. beachblogger June 8, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

    I like the sound of ‘man traffic’ … good ideas in this blog … wish I’d had it to read when I hung out at bars … keep placing that product and blogging about it …
    all the best …

  2. Lucie Stevens June 8, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    I think you’re doing a great job placing your ‘product’ on the beach each morning. At least you’ll know all the guys you meet are healthy, outdoorsy types!

  3. ceade June 8, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    Another great, engaging post, Lucie. Great tips (especially, the one about how to spot ‘decent’ guys – aren’t they a rarity these days?)

    Social Graces

Leave a Reply

