The seemingly endless search for love

19 Jul

manMap on a seeminly endless search for loveSunday was a dream day, a prelude to spring. So with my Dry July sisters in mind, I dismissed thoughts of sunny beer gardens and set out for a round of culture instead.

Circular Quay was vibrating with energy: families, tourists and locals hummed around on their various adventures. I was bound for Cockatoo Island, which is hosting an art exhibition as part of the seventeenth Biennale of Sydney.

It’s always been my dream to find a man who isn’t opposed to art. I’m certainly not hanging out at the MCA each week but I like to dip into artistic circles every now and then. A gallery visit helps keep my mind flexible and having someone to compare notes with is good fun. Filled with hope and delight at what the day might hold, I joined the queue for the free ferry, ready to open my heart to modern art and contemporary love.

Waiting for the ferry gave me time to study my fellow queuers. There were quite a few couples with young kids but people in their 20s and 30s were out in force, girls creatively dressed, guys in skinny jeans and thick-rimmed glasses. It was difficult to work out who belonged to who but I was optimistic. Until I got on the ferry and everyone paired up to take their seats. The boat was flooded with couples holding onto each other to resist the harbour’s light swell. I was surrounded.

“No probs,” I thought. “The single guys will already be there. The couples would’ve taken their time over breakfast, which would’ve slowed down their day.”

Disembarking, I wandered toward to main exhibition area. Ahead of me was a group of artistically scruffy guys. Jackpot! But by the time I’d entered the building, they’d disappeared. There were plenty of guys inside, many of them attractive and fit. But the way people wandered around, taking their time to ponder before heading back to a friend or partner, made it hard to determine who was available.

I worked my way through the exhibitions, half my heart captivated by the art and the buildings themselves, the other half feeling like I’d failed yet again to locate single men outside watering-holes. Doubt began to whisper in my ear:

You’ll never find a thousand men to survey. What gives you the right to interrupt strangers who are just trying to enjoy their day?

The cold and ancient grime of the building sucked away the sun’s warmth and energy, making me feel even worse. I was at the point of conceding defeat when I came across an artwork, part of which said: the seemingly endless search.

And that’s when I realised something important. The search for love often feels impossible and eternal, particularly when we find ourselves surrounded by happy couples. But those couples were once single people, on their own seemingly endless searches. And yet one day their search came to an end and they found the love they were looking for. And there’s no valid reason why the same won’t happen to me.

Or to you.

6 Responses to “The seemingly endless search for love”

  1. beachblogger July 19, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    Hate to be a cynic (or do I?) but the only exhbition I ever saw a good number of men at was the Indian one a few years back about goddesses I think? Filled with erotic sculptures and plenty of naked dancing women, breasts like ripe melons etc etc etc.

    Suddenly dozens of straight men discovered a fascination for art and were poring over details of these priceless works …

    Still, the guys who like art and are straight are out there … somewhere …

  2. Lucie Stevens July 19, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    Well this is the thing BB, I have two straight brothers who both studied visual arts and who have lovely straight male friends who work in the art industry. My eldest bro in particular has a huge Sydney-based social circle. I always though I’d end up with one of their mates, as they’re a nice age-gap older than me. But alas…it hasn’t happened yet so I’m thinking they won’t be the ones to introduce me to my future partner…I’ll just have to turn up to lots of openings and hope for the best.

    • Ailsa Brackley du Bois July 19, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

      My hubbie is an art lover, and I met him at a photographic exhibition launch of his own work at the Lizard Lounge upstairs at the Exchange Hotel in Oxford Street, Darlo, so go figure! It does happen – These men do exist… Just keep going to gallery launches Lucie! It’s a numbers game – the more often you go, the more likely you are to meet this man that shares your same interests!

      • Lucie Stevens July 20, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

        Thanks for the encouragement Ailsa! Hopefully by the time I finish surveying 1000 men, I’ll have met the one I’m really looking for. : )

  3. KaPau! August 10, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    This is such a great blog!!!! And a great idea!! Don’t give up!! I’ll be checking in often to make sure you don’t;-p Blessings and good luck to you!

    • Lucie Stevens August 16, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

      Thanks for the encouragement KaPau! It’s good to know that people are cheering me on. Helps keep me motivated on those days when I just don’t think I have the energy or confidence to survey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

