What shoe are you?

4 Aug

I spend a lot of time getting to know Sydney suburbs while I’m surveying. The regulars at the local pub, the café goers and nature of public spaces say so much about a suburb’s personality. It’s a useful study because manMap The Guidebook (coming one day!) will be filled with cross references, so if you like the feel of one suburb, you’ll be able to find other places that are similar.

So what do shoes have to do with anything? One of my fabulous wing-girls (thank you wing-girl!) sent me this website which likens Australian suburbs to shoes. For example, my home hood Darlinghurst is represented by these shoes:

manMap's local shoe: Converse

Converse

manMap's local shoes: Fluevogs

Fluevog

So ladies, what shoe are you? 

9 Responses to “What shoe are you?”

  1. Pile o Books August 6, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    Ha! Anything near me says ‘casual’ ‘families’ ‘no frills’ – which decidedly points to the fact that I’m living in the inner west at my parents’ house. Blah! I do, however, think thongs are for all people in all places. 🙂

    • Lucie Stevens August 8, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

      At least your parents live somewhere where there are lots of single guys…no such luck in the semi-rural district my folks live it…

      • Pile o Books August 8, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

        Really? Good to know. Must pay more attention!

  2. beachblogger August 7, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    Er … being by the beach I think I might be a pair of thongs, but as some of the neighbourhood is pretty upmarket, probably fancy ones … although mine came from the $2 shop …

    • Lucie Stevens August 8, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

      Thongs are our nation’s footware of choice and nothing to be ashamed of. I’m looking forward to the day I can pull mine out of the wardrobe again…

  3. philosophydoll August 10, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    I live in walking distance from THE original Fluevog store…

    trust me they’re too heavy for a lot of walking and surveying…

    My shoe of choice is the Blundstone…

    I like your blog, it is an excellent concept…

    I lived in Sydney in 1989 for a few months,

    Coogee to be exact,

    because Bondi was full of needles at the time…

    All I wanted the whole time I was there was a Canadian boy,

    so I went home to Vancouver,

    and met one…

    Good luck with your research…

    • Lucie Stevens August 10, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

      Thanks for visiting philosophydoll! I’ve glad to hear you met your man after all. Hope you still enjoyed your time in Sydney even if we fell short in the Canadian-man department.

  4. sarahnsh August 12, 2010 at 6:29 am #

    I am a very laid-back type of sneaker shoe, which is extremely comfortable and absolutely nothing flashy or fashionable about it. But the shoe would be super reliable, like me!

    • Lucie Stevens August 16, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

      Nothing wrong with a faithful sneaker to see you up and down the hills of life!

Leave a Reply

