Deal-breaking syndromes

22 Sep

Earlier in the week you may have read about the RBS epidemic among Sydney women. It seems that there’s an epidemic among Sydney men too: PSS.

Although I’ve frequently seen men exhibit PSS symptoms at night, particularly when they move between watering-holes, it seems that they’re effecting men at all times of day now. I’ve even seen men have attacks of PSS on the way to work, despite their otherwise civilised and suited appearance.

I’m referring to Public Spitting Syndrome.

Why do men think it’s ok to spit? Just because it comes out of your mouth, and not from an area usually covered by clothing, doesn’t make it ok. It’s bad enough we have to look out for dog poo left on footpaths by careless owners. Why should we have to side-step spit-puddles too?

I suppose the reason I feel so strongly about this is that I’m a bit of a hygiene-freak. I could never date a man with a bad case of PSS. To me, it’s a deal breaker.

But I’d like to know, for future reference, if I’m being unreasonable. Is PSS an acceptable deal-breaker? What’s on your list of Behaviours You Can in No Way Tolerate?

8 Responses to “Deal-breaking syndromes”

  1. Rister September 22, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    DEAL BREAKER!! Same as blowing your nose in the bathroom sink or shower! YUCK!

    Major deal breaker for me, and I have experienced twice – Guys talking to me in a baby voice. Not funny, not cute and not sexy! The most recent of the two was a union player with nice broad shoulders. He came across physically as this nice strong man and then he opened up his mouth!

    • Lucie Stevens September 23, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

      Oh dear…I think I would laugh in someone’s face if they pulled out the baby-talk on me, especially if the guy had lovely broad shoulders…so disappointing…

      And I hear you re. the nose blowing…just wrong…

  2. mindybeaver September 23, 2010 at 12:04 am #

    When I was living in London, I found PSS much more prolific, even the gorgeous modelesque women were doing it, gross! I had a guy spit in front of me on the sidewalk as he walked past, and it literally flew past my face!

    Deal breakers – yes to PSS, yes to baby voice, and no your not being unreasonable!

    • Lucie Stevens September 23, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

      Oh my MB that is foul foul foul. I just can’t understand why anyone would think that’s attractive, let alone adhering to a basic hygene standard. The Queen Mum would turn in her grave…

  3. nameinlights September 23, 2010 at 2:22 am #

    I agree. once dated a guy who thought it was ok to hold one nostral and blow boggers out of the other….um it’s called a tissue! he didn’t get a second date…..other deal breakers are long finger nails, sorry even if you play the guitar…freeky.

    • Lucie Stevens September 23, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

      That is so foul N.I.Ls re the nose-blowing. I can’t believe someone would think that’s acceptable behaviour, especially on a date…you poor thing!

  4. Bean September 27, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

    PSS is definitely gross, and I also can’t stand men that snort. Why can’t they get a tissue and blow their nose? I’m betting they’re also the ones guilty of PSS from all that snorting. *shudders*

    • Lucie Stevens September 27, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

      It’s a mystery to me Bean. Surely they’re not so busy that they can pull out a tissue and blow…

Leave a Reply

