How nice girls can say no

4 Nov

After my Monday post I decided to do some research to see if other women are searching for a polite way to turn men down. It seems I’m not alone! I came across a blog-post that collated advice from other blogs and forums, so I thought I’d summarise it here. I recommend reading the whole post before you venture out this weekend.

Ways to show a lack of interest politely:

  • Don’t talk too much and keep your personal space. The personal space thing could be tricky if you’re cornered. I remember one particular moment at a house party where I ended up wedged in the corner of the kitchen bench…very difficult to escape… But the non-responsive approach could work as long as the guy wasn’t too self-absorbed.
  • Look around the room. This is a good one for me. I can’t see very well when it’s dark so if I’m looking at someone across the room I tend to frown. Hopefully the guy would think I was frowning because he was talking to me…
  • Talk about other men. I like this one. The post suggests comparing the guy bailing you up to your brother. Surely that’d give him a nice, sturdy hint that you’re not interested.
  • Say you’re not looking for a relationship. This might work against you if he was just looking for casual fun.
  • Don’t laugh at his jokes. Maybe throw in a yawn for good measure…
  • Tell him you’re not interested. I suppose if this doesn’t get rid of him, you might need to change venues.

Hopefully this will help a few of you out when you’re out and about. Let me know if you try a strategy and it works.

3 Responses to “How nice girls can say no”

  1. Chad November 5, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    Tell them you’re married with three kids. It’s worked for me more than once. You can’t see them for the dust cloud they leave behind when they bolt!

  2. Lucie Stevens November 6, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    Hehehe – good idea Chad…as long as they don’t have a cute friend you like the look of…

  3. beachblogger November 9, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    This takes guts and it could backfire I admit but … if you’re really serious about getting rid of a guy gaze into his eyes and tell him you’re looking for a husband …

Leave a Reply

