manMap turns 500 (in survey years)!

17 Nov

On Saturday night I reached a MEGA-MILESTONE – I conducted my 500th survey at Helm in Cockle Bay.

To celebrate reaching the halfway mark and to thank all my readers, wing-girls, family (writing family inclusive!) and friends for their support, I have a $20 iTunes gift card to give away (ok I realise this isn’t that thrilling but keep in mind manMap isn’t generating revenue at this point).

For your chance to win, all you need to do is leave a comment with the funniest story you know about dating or meeting someone. Guys, girls, straight, gay, bi, other and overseas readers are welcome to enter. An independent judge will pick the winner.

Please enter only if you’re happy to give me your name and postal address, so I can send you your prize if you win. Your personal information won’t be passed on to anyone else, particularly if you’re a single, straight guy I like the sound of.

The competition will close at midnight on Sunday November 28th (EST), so you’ve got two weekends to find yourself in the midst of a funny story.

Finally, a big thank you to the guys at Helm on Saturday and to my wing-girls for your support and a great night out. You really out-did yourselves by organising fireworks ladies. 🙂

11 Responses to “manMap turns 500 (in survey years)!”

  1. Tyler November 20, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    An Itunes voucher. Awesome. There’s this new song by Nelly that I’ve been dying to download. If I win though, I want the giftcard personally delivered by the lovely blog writer 😉

    Dating… dating, when it comes to dating, I find that the first skin on skin contact is the most important moment. While a kiss is terrific, you can’t manage to work it in until the end of the date, and by then, it might be too late. No, the moment you have to focus on, is a brush of your fingers along the back of her hand, or holding her hand to help her step up the curb. I read, I think it was on here, a tip on touching a girl’s palm. The trick works. It breaks down a barrier and stops you from being two separate people on a platonic outing and subtly shifts the focus to something deeper.
    Of course, managing to touch skin on skin is not always easy.
    I remember a year ago, I was lucky enough to land a date with a radiographer. She wore glasses, a cute, librarian type. We arranged to meet at a cafe. I tried to turn up early, so I could offer her my hand as she sat down, but she was already sitting when I arrived. She was reading a book, and after saying hello, I sat opposite and enquired what she was reading. Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, she replied. I asked to see it, hoping that maybe our hands would meet for a second as I took it from her, but she slid it across the table to me. I picked it, pretending to read the back cover and went to hand it back to her, our hands inched together, but at the same time, our dutiful waitress brought across a pitcher of water to our table. There was a mix of water, a Stig Larson book, and three pairs of hands. I felt the touch of skin, but when the pitcher of water and book settled, I came up holding the waitress’s hand.
    After that evening, I never saw the radiographer again, but I’m pleased to say the waitress and I announced our engagement this October. (Only kidding, I managed to get a second date with the radiographer, but that’s another story.)

    • Lucie Stevens November 21, 2010 at 10:31 am #

      Thanks for sharing your story Tyler – I had a good laugh about you ending up holding the waiteress’ hand! Thanks for kick-starting my Sunday morning with a laugh.
      You should start writing short stories if you don’t already…twists like that are always appreciated!:)

  2. Richard November 22, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    How come it’s only the guys responding to this? I know there are plenty of girls out there that I’ve dated who can recount any number of idiotic things I’ve done.

    Anyway, back in my university days I was more often skint than not, so when I went out on a date with a girl I always suggested we go to the art gallery, mainly because you didn’t have to pay to get in — not that I’d ever say that was the reason I wanted to go there — I always tried to make out I was a great lover of art.

    Well, I was there one time with this post graduate student, who was pretty cluely, so I wanted to impress her. All guys know, you can’t impress a woman just by being nice to her, or listening to her, you have to show off. So we were walking down this corridor of modern paintings, and I pointed to a picasso and asked my friend if she knew anything about it. She didn’t, so I started to explain to her all about what picasso was trying to achieve and the period of his life at the time he painted it. (I had borrowed a book from the library to try and research up a bit.)
    My friend was impressed by my knowledge, and we went to move on. But as we did, a tour group came from the other end of the corridor. The guide led the group right up the painting I had just explained to my friend, and started spouting quite contradictory facts to the ones I had just said. I wanted to press through the group, but there were so many tourists listening to the guide, they had the corridor quite blocked. I had to stand there, as the guide gave a ten minute speech which basically tore apart any art credibility I had. Oh well.

    • Lucie Stevens November 25, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

      Oh how awkward! How did she respond? She she play along and then never get in touch or did she say something to you about it?

    • Lucie Stevens December 5, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

      Hi Richard,
      My email to the address you used when you commented has bounced. Please email me at mymanmap@gmail.com so I can send your prize to you!

      🙂

      • richard December 11, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

        Winning, and beating those other losers who entered is reward enough for me. 🙂 You keep the voucher and buy some happy christmas songs for your ipod.

      • Lucie Stevens December 20, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

        That’s very kind of you Richard – thank you and sorry for taking so long to reply – it’s been busy chores! I’ll buy some great tunes to get me through my loooong flight to NYC. Hope you have a great Christmas and NYE!

  3. another guy November 28, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    In my younger and more vulnerable years I couldn’t help but fall madly in love with women who rode bicycles. There’s something so independent about a girl who will cycle around the city. However, I never could successfully date any of them. My theory is that these woman know life is too short and precious. Anyone who has been on a bicycle on a narrow street while a semi-trailer is trying to overtake them or a car door is opened unexpectedly, knows how short a time on earth they have, and they don’t want to waste their time getting back in touch with me.
    My heart still skips a beat however when I’m walking along the street, and a woman on a bicycle rides past.

    • Lucie Stevens November 30, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

      I agree with you – particularly in Sydney. Cycling in definitely a high-risk activity and I’m yet to see anyone actually use the new cycle lane near my house.

      Thanks for entering guys – I’ve sent your comments over to my wing-girl who’s going to select the winner. I’ll be in touch when she’s decided. Thanks so much for reading – it’s great to know there are guys interested in this blog. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Love by numbers « My manMap - November 25, 2010

    […] Don’t forget to enter your funny dating stories for your chance to win an iTunes voucher! Entries are open til midnight this Sunday. Click here enter. […]

  2. And the winner is … « My manMap - December 4, 2010

    […] you to the guys who entered the competition for the funniest dating story, and to everyone for their […]

Leave a Reply

