Mapping milestones

20 Dec

manMap hearts ChristmasIt’s around this time of year that many of us take stock. When you’re single, there’s always the temptation to fall into the trap of ‘another year alone’ instead of focusing on all the good things that have happened.

So in the spirit of celebrating what’s been a busy but fabulous year for me (despite my singledom!), I thought I’d share some mapping milestones and memories:

  • Number of men surveyed to date: 531
  • Percentage of men surveyed who were single: 49%
  • Number of venues/places visited so far: 47
  • Favourite mapping moment: being invited to share a bottle of champagne with four lovely men at Verandah Bar (who extended the invite to my wing-girl).
  • Funniest mapping moment: being asked if I was ‘in the mood’ by random a stranger (I wasn’t technically surveying but I’m sure I can bend the rules a little since I was on the way to a bar).
  • Scariest mapping moment: being followed by a crazy man out of the Warren View Hotel.
  • Number of blog hits to date: 10,573
  • Most exciting blogging moment: being Freshly Pressed after only four months of blogging (if you’re not a blogger you might not understand this one but believe me, it was VERY exciting).
  • And finally, something to look forward to…number of men left to survey: 469. I’m hoping my Mr Lovely will be among them.

As this will be my last post before Christmas, I just wanted to say thank you to everyone who’s supported manMap so far: my wing-girls, family and friends, readers, subscribers, Facebook fans, my wonderful writing group and most importantly, the men of Sydney who have offered me their time. Without you, manMap wouldn’t be possible.

Next on the agenda: manMap takes Manhattan, or perhaps it’ll be Manhattan takes manMap. Either way, I’ll be in New York during January. I have a few manMap events organised and will do my best to keep you updated. Be sure to check in every now and then to find out how the NY dating scene compares to Sydney’s.

I hope you all have a fabulous Christmas and a 2011 filled with happiness and love.

7 Responses to “Mapping milestones”

  1. kate kralj December 21, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    Congrats Lucie! A very successful year! You have worked very hard this year, and I am sure in 2011 you will be well rewarded 🙂

  2. Helana December 21, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    Here’s hoping you will meet a wonderful Aussie man in New York. Supposedly that’s where they’ve all gone. But you can take the boy out of Oz, but can’t take Oz out of the boy, he’ll want to come back.

    • Lucie Stevens December 24, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

      Thanks Helana, I’m sure we could compromise – 6 months in Manhattan and 6 months in Sydney. 🙂

  3. Catherine December 24, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    Been enjoying the blog :). I got Freshly Pressed early on in my blogging career too – it’s a huge high!! Then, however, you always want something bigger, it’s kind of addicting 🙂

    • Lucie Stevens December 24, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

      Thanks for reading Catherine, especially since I know you’re not a local. All the best for successful blogging in 2011!

  4. Col January 5, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    Mr. Lovely better be among the 469 or otherwise I’m getting a stick and beating the pubs and clubs until I can flush him out for you.

Leave a Reply

