Smooth moves…not!

3 Mar

On Tuesday night I went to the launch of Manu’s French Kitchen at Ariel in Paddington. As expected, it was an elegant affair (for a bookshop!). Chilled champagne, a range of delicious French cheeses, the charismatic French chef greeting fans and supporters.

Manu ended his charming speech by asking if anyone had any questions. One man, in his 50s and not looking like anything special, hollered, “What’s this woman’s name?” He then pointed to an attractive lady near the front of the stage. “This one, what’s her name?” he said.

Everyone was a little confused. But Manu took it in his stride.

“What is your name?” he asked, his lovely accent making the hollerer seem even more ridiculous.

“Michelle,” the woman said, still as confused as the rest of us.

“Ok,” said Manu. “Any other questions?” We all exhaled. Thank god the embarrassing situation was over. But alas, not so.

“Yes,” said the hollerer loudly but to the woman. “When would you like to go out?”

The rest of us looked at each other, horrified, aghast, relieved that the man wasn’t hollering at us.

“I hear you can juggle,” the owner of Ariel said, saving us from embarrassment while poor Michelle tried to subtly move away from her assailant.

The rest of us blinked. Had that really just happened. Had a man just hijacked a book launch to try to ask a woman out?

Now I’m all for being assertive but there’s a difference to introducing yourself to someone and ramming yourself into someone’s attention. The ordeal made me worry that the dating scene in Sydney has deteriorated even more than I thought.

So I just thought I’d ask: has anyone out there been at the receiving end of similar behaviour? How did you survive?

8 Responses to “Smooth moves…not!”

  1. Team Oyeniyi March 3, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    I can thankfully report I have never been assailed in such a manner! I just had to acknowledge your very funny experience!

    Is it possible this was a game these two played? People Do get up to some weird things from time to time! At a book launch seems a little odd, though.

    • Lucie Stevens March 6, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

      Thanks for visiting Team O.
      Although I know there are some couples out there that play theses games (and snaps to them for keeping the element of fun in their relationships) I think this guy was serious. I’d briefly encountered him on the street when my friend had called out, “Hi Lucie!” to me, to which he’d said, “Have a great night Lucie!” or something along those lines. I think he was out on the prowl! The poor woman, and poor Manu for having his moment of triumph overshadowed by a random guest.

  2. Ashley March 3, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    What’s that guy doing? Doesn’t he realise there’s a drought on? Acting like a complete jerk that way is the drought equivilent of washing your car with a hose on a concrete driveway under the midday sun.

    • Lucie Stevens March 6, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

      Nicely put Ashley! And they wonder why women are afraid to approach men they don’t know!
      PS. Come back to Sydney. We miss you and your trolls.

  3. The Single Girl March 3, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    I have never been party to an experience like that…it sounds awful! Wonder how Michelle got out of that one!

    • Lucie Stevens March 6, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

      Thank god there was alcohol available to help her through it…although that may have contributed to the situation happening in the first place…

  4. Pow March 15, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    The guys went home and retold his story…

    So in front of everyone I asked her what her name was. I knew she would like my show of confidence. I persisted and asked her out, right there and then, in front of everyone. All the woman in the room were holding their breath in excited anticipation (like when a guy gets down on one leg at a restaurant and something is going to happen). Imagine what I great story this will make when she tells all her friends I hijacked a book launch to ask her out!

    • Lucie Stevens March 15, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

      Sadly Pow, I don’t think the guy had the scruples to think beyond the present moment, but it’s a nice idea…

Leave a Reply

