Happy 2012 singletons!

28 Dec

Hello lovely readers,

Well it’s been an age and a bit since I last posted, which is very negligent but I hope you’ll forgive me when you hear why. The end of 2011 turned out to be a wonderful succession of good news for me. After I received my ASA mentorship, my novel and I were awarded a fellowship from the NSW Writers’ Centre. And after that I was offered a job at the Australian Society of Authors. All these events made me realise that it’s time to put manMap aside and focus of finishing my novel, which is my true (writing) love.

manMap has been a fantastic experience and although it’s ending prematurely, I don’t regret any of the nights I traipsed through Sydney alone, in search of single men. I feel more confident talking to strangers and I visited places I’d never ventured before. Over the course of my 623 interviews, I went to 55 different pubs, bars and public spaces and of course, entered the Land of Blogging. I met some great people and only had a handful of bad experiences, which goes to show that at the end of the day, we’re human beings and most of us are willing to help someone else out.

To give manMap the ending I feel it deserves, I’ve decided I’d post the sections of my manMap guidebook which I’d already written, in the hope that you’d find it useful. I’ll post once a week until I run out of manuscript. Apologies for any double-ups that occur because I’ve posted info as I interviewed over the past eighteen months.

Thank you so much for your support, comments, emails and well-wishes. I hope 2012 is a year filled with all the things you’ve been hoping for.

All the best,
Lucie.

4 Responses to “Happy 2012 singletons!”

  1. Neil Butler December 28, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Well done and best wishes for the next exciting (ad)venture.

    You’re on your way to superstardom

    • James December 29, 2011 at 8:51 am #

      Congratulations Lucie! It sounds like things are really rolling, and this was a step towards exciting things. I’ll pass it onto the single girls I know.

    • Lucie Stevens December 30, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

      Well, we’ll see about that Neil but thank you for the well-wishes!

Leave a Reply

