How to spot a flirter (according to the experts)

7 Oct

After my Monday post I decided the logical next step to improving my flirting skills was to do some research. If you google ‘flirting tips’ you’ll find more websites than there are men to flirt with. Here are some things I discovered:

  • Signs a woman is interested include sideward glances, if she looks at the guy a few times or if she holds his glaze briefly. She’s also interested if she has downcast eyes and looks away. So basically she’s interested if she does, or does not, look at the guy.
  • Another sign is she smiles. Who would’ve thought??
  • And my favourite: a woman is interested if she ‘flashes her palm.’ No wonder I’m single – I didn’t know the palm was such a provocative body part.

So there you have it ladies, there’s no need for heels or expensive lingerie. All you have to do to let a guy know you want him is get your gloves off!

13 Responses to “How to spot a flirter (according to the experts)”

  1. Ray October 7, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    When I was a young buck I was told by an older buck, that the most intimate place to touch a woman to get results when flirting was her pulse point on the inside of her wrist, the same place where they put perfume when they go to the perfume counter. I don’t know if there is any wisdom and/ or logic to this, but would go along with that flashing the palm business.
    Dating is a strange world.

    • Lucie Stevens October 7, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

      Thanks for visiting Ray! I suppose that does make sense. An old yoga teacher once told me that if you expose your wrists in any situation it means you’re comfortable (I suppose you’re not scared of someone slitting them!) so maybe that has something to do with it too. I’ll test the theory this weekend!

  2. Social Graces October 7, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    Love it, Luce. Yes, me too, I’ve just learned the secret – I should “hi-five” those I’m interested in or is that too provocative?

    • Lucie Stevens October 7, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

      Why not SG! I’m sure some men would find that much palm a major turn on!

  3. beachblogger October 8, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    Yup, looking at someone is a dead giveaway … I was staring at this odd man in a restaurant the other day because he was right in front of me and there was nothing else to look at really … anyway he picked up on it and I could feel his eyes boring into me from the other side of the room … for the rest of my meal I spent the time madly swivelling my eyes in every direction but his … little realising that this was increasing the excitement!

    Trouble is I haven’t noticed it working with guys I’m genuinely interested in … maybe I should try palms …

    • Lucie Stevens October 9, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

      Oh BB your comment made me laugh! I can just imagine you making yourself dizzy looking in every other direction possible. I hope you didn’t end up with indigestion…
      And yes, give the palms a whirl.
      I wonder how you’d flash your palms if you were dating online…

  4. Pile o Books October 10, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    Perhaps that’s why once upon a time women always had to wear gloves when they were out in public… seriously.

    Of course there’s the other usual communication complication where you may be flirting with a bloke like some kind of off-the-wall flirt champ but if he’s lacking a flirt antenna…

    • Lucie Stevens October 11, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

      Hmmm…yes that is tricksy. Maybe we should all just get into the palm-flashing…

  5. James October 12, 2010 at 3:25 am #

    One that someone told me in Spain – if a woman catches your eye, looks away, then looks back, they’re interested. It’s a reflex: even women who know about it can’t avoid doing it!

    Another one: if you squeeze someone’s hands and they squeeze back, then it’s a green light.

    • Lucie Stevens October 12, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

      Ooo…more palm action!

      Yes I think the glancing thing is true. Although if I’m not wearing my glasses my glances tend to come out as scowls…probably not the best strategy on my part…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Flirt-free fraternising « My manMap - October 11, 2010

    […]  I was in no way exhibiting any of the signs I wrote about last week, including the infamous palm-flashing. […]

  2. manMap takes a moment… « My manMap - November 8, 2010

    […] while I was out surveying. It was one of those perfect moments. A smile, a laugh, some casual palm-flashing on my part to let him know I was keen…sigh…I’m sure you can imagine the […]

  3. March Mapping Report « My manMap - March 30, 2011

    […] Make eye contact (or as one guy put it, engage in some eye-fucking) or do something physical that makes it clear you’re interested – maybe it need to get back into palm-flashing!! […]

Leave a comment